QU & Batey 50

Students making a difference a long way from home

Remembering the DR…

1 Comment

It’s been 20 days since we’ve come back from the Dominican, almost 3 weeks. I still think about our trip every single day. If someone asks me in the halls about it, I cant help but smile and want to tell them every moment we shared with the people of Batey 50 or tell them the story of Francisco and Pilar and how their strength inspires me or about the time I spent with the med team in Batey Cuya. I find myself still looking through pictures and wondering, were we really there or was it all just a dream? Being thrown back into this daily routine of schoolwork and classes makes me feel as though it was all a blur and I have to say it’s difficult. I wake up every morning and at first I think, “I’m tired. Do I really have another 8am-7pm day?” But then almost immediately now, another thought comes in and stops my first. I find myself so incredibly blessed to be here at Quinnipiac and I know everything I am working towards is only helping me work towards a greater goal of helping others. If I can accomplish my goal, I can return to the Dominican and make a greater difference. Being a part of the med clinic in Batey Cuya has only strengthened my passion for being a bio/pre-med major and I am grateful for that. We’re so blessed to have the ability to be getting an education. It broke my heart when I found out it costs only $25 for a child to go to school for a whole year!

I found it ironic also that even though the people of the Bateyes are working so hard all day in the sugarcane fields, they are so much happier than we are in general. We are always so stressed out over the little things, which really don’t matter in the long run. I’m taking their “don’t worry, be happy” motto to heart and trying to not sweat the small things in life. Everything will work out how it is supposed to be and the opportunities that are meant for us will not pass us by. I would not have changed our group for the world and this experience is one I will never forget. The people of Batey 50 and La Romana will always have a place in my heart and I cannot wait to see them again in June!!

-Jessica Patel

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

One thought on “Remembering the DR…

  1. Great job Jess! And great photos!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.